Which places does the law say must be accessible?

The Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) and Equal Opportunity Act (EOA) are laws which protects the rights of people with disabilities. It protects your right to access public places that people without disabilities can access. This means any place that the public can go into and use. This includes places like:

  • Public footpaths
  • Public toilets
  • Schools, TAFEs and universities
  • Shops
  • Parks
  • Public swimming pools
  • Cafes, restaurants and pubs
  • Theatres, concert halls and other places of entertainment
  • Legal services and banks
  • Libraries
  • Social and sport clubs
  • Public transport (including trains, buses, ferries, boats, ships and planes)
  • Medical places (like hospitals and doctors’ offices)

These are just some examples. There are lots of others.

Private places are not covered by these laws. This means places that the public aren’t normally allowed to get into, like somebody’s private home, car or farm. The law means that places covered by the DDA have to do and have certain things. This includes being accessible to people with a disability.